Oxtail Sausage Rolls

I am here to join the mass ranks of people taking pictures of food and writing about it.

Today I have been experimenting a bit and created Oxtail ‘Sausage Rolls’ as a short named as opposed to listing all the components. Also it creates some intrigue so now you have to read on to find out what I mean.

I got 2 large pieces of oxtail (500g) from the friendly butcher in Morrisons (I am very impressed with the quality of their meat) for £3. Ok value but a lot of that weight is fat and bone so it doesn’t make for a quick meal.

I rubbed the oxtail with some salt and pepper and browned it on the hob in a tiny bit of olive oil. Once they were brown I took them out and add a small chopped red onion to deglaze a bit. I then reintroduced the oxtails along with enough beef stock to cover everything plus some dried oregano & thyme and brought it to the boil. I then covered it and put it in the oven at 140C for 3.5 hours turning once or twice.

When I took it out some of the meat had started to separate from the bone already so you know it’s done. I had to spend a few minutes stripping the meat off the bone and separating some of the fat away and eating some obviously. I then rolled out some puff pastry (which I did not make myself!) and cut it into squares. I put a bit of the meat in the middle of each and brushed with some beaten egg before rolling it up and pressing down to seal the edges. I then brushed the outsides with some more egg and put it in the oven at 180C until golden. Meanwhile I skimmed some fat off the braising liquid and reduced it.

Image

This was the best looking of the bunch obviously.

Image

I served them with some wilted spinach.

Image

Inside of the ‘roll’.

In future I think I would serve one person and make it a starter, overall a succesful experiment though.

Leave a Reply

